SIGNIFICANT THROWBACK: Value-Creation – The Case of Google (Part 1)

While I was doing a thorough cleaning of my room one day, thanks to being on quarantine I now have time to do this (lol), I saw a bunch of old files piled up in an equally decaying old box. They’re a mix of files from my previous corporate jobs and school requirements from my college and graduate studies.

A two-page assignment caught my attention because of the red mark on top referring to my score – 60/60. The paper was dated April 28, 2010, and it was one of the requirements for my Strategic Management course. I can’t believe that I’m keeping a decade-old school paper in my room. But that’s just me. I keep things that have sentimental values.

Out of curiosity, I read the paper’s content. It’s a case analysis of value creation with Google. There were six questions asked and I just wanted to share what my answers were to each of these. But I have re-phrased these to make them sound better and lighter. Yes, I feel that my writing is far better now than it was 10 years ago. 😀

What value does Google create for the users?

As we know, Google is currently one of the most commonly used search engines by online users across the world, apparently because it’s user-friendly. This application is very helpful to users as it’s super easy to navigate and it has an accurate answer to almost anything you want to know from the web. No wonder, Google is everybody’s friend, and I’m not an exemption. Through the years, I have relied on Google a lot for things I want to know about – be it simple or complicated, personal, or work-related.

But how was Google discovered? It started with Larry Page and Sergey Brin, PhD students at Stanford University in California. These guys experienced difficulty in getting the exact information they needed from the web due to the existence of various websites providing too much information, many of which are irrelevant.

This scenario, sometimes, does not really help a user but heightened instead his confusion as to which information is the most accurate to use. It’s also time-consuming to look for these web pages one after the other. To resolve this issue, Page and Brin came up with a device that would address their specific needs in terms of searching relevant information from the web.

Initially, the two named the search algorithm as “BackRub” which they created in 1996. Two years later, Google was officially launched and quickly became a hit in the internet searches industry. Over the years, Google has significantly benefited a huge portion of users, becoming the most used web-based search engine worldwide.

What value does Google create for advertisers?

Not only does Google help customers with their online information searches, but also the advertisers in terms of relatively lower advertising costs coupled with the opportunity to be on top of the Google-generated list.

Notice that when you type something on Google’s search bar and provided with results, the very first things you see on top of the lists have the two letters “Ad” written before them. This means these are paid advertisements.

Google employs a strategic automated bidding process to attract bidders to advertise on the information needed by users charged at a very affordable and competitive amount. No wonder, more and more are advertising with Google and they never disappeared on top of Google’s search results.

To be continued…

Published by Jenifer

Jenifer's passion for writing did not only provide her an outlet for voicing out her thoughts and emotions, but it also led her to a fantastic career path she'd never thought she'll tread on. She enjoys writing valuable content and works hard on bringing these closer to others.

Leave a comment